Raw ‘Lobster’ Salad

The other day ago my mom wanted to pick up something from Offer Up in Davie while I was at her house so she could watch the baby and I could get some work done. Wanting to take a break, I told her I’d go with her under one condition; if we go to Food Town. If you’re in S.Fla and have never been, you’re missing out. It’s only the most awesome supermarket, ever. Once you get passed the smell of the fresh seafood, you’ll find yourself overwhelmed with choice. There’s literally an aisle for every country; mostly Asian but there’s lots of other specialty items as well (and a TON of vegan meat substitutes). Then there’s the fresh produce; fruits and vegetables that you’ve never heard of, let alone seen! So, I wanted to and mosey down the aisles with no intentions in mind. I got home with about $133 worth of goodies and had to get creative. I consider this a good day having not spent a fortune. I texted my friend and asked her what I should do with the king oyster mushrooms I ended up with and she sent me this Vegan Lobster Roll recipe. Low and behold, I bought a can of hearts of palm while I was there! I followed this recipe pretty closely, minus the directions. I mixed everything together not noticing that it was supposed to be cooked so I just added some lemon juice and mixed away. While I was at my mom’s earlier in the week, I also stayed the night and went to LongHorn with her for lunch the next day and our server was so friendly, she gave us a bunch of the bread to take home since I love it so much! It was perfect for this sandwich. This is seriously chef status.

Vegan Lobster Roll

Ingredients:

  • 1 (about 222 g) King Oyster Mushroom, shredded
  • 1 can Hearts of Palm, sliced
  • 1/2 Lemon, juiced
  • 1/2 tsp Old Bay
  • 1/2 tsp Himalayan Sea Salt
  • 1/2 tsp Ground Black Pepper
  • 1 tsp (2 g) Dulse
  • 10 g Fresh Dill
  • 5 g Fresh Parsley
  • 1 tsp Golden Agave
  • 4 tsp (18 g) Vegan Mayonnaise
  • Optional: Green Onion & Paprika to garnish

Directions:

I started by adding all the spices and the mayo to a large bowl then shredded the mushroom and sliced the hearts of palm. I added it to the bowl and squeezed half of a lemon over it and mixed away. As I plated, I totally forgot the green onions and paprika but massaged some Green Dragon Dressing that I bartered from the last Backyard Market in some raw kale and served it with that. I think it also would have been good with some red onion, garlic and lots more Old Bay; I added a considerable amount of sriracha to mine.

Leave a comment